9 Newly Crowned Geoparks by UNESCO

This year, the new 9 geoparks added to the list  UNESCO’s Global Network of National Geoparks are:

  1. The Bauges Regional Park, Bauges, France
  2. Katla Geopark, Iceland
  3. Burren and Cliffs of Moher Geopark, Ireland
  4. Hong Kong Geopark, China
  5. Apuan Alps, Italy
  6. Muroto Geopark, Japan
  7. Tianzhu Shan Geopark, China
  8. Sierra Norte de Sevilla Geopark, Spain
  9. Villuercas Ibores Jara Geopark, Spain

Among the nine, there geoparks namely Hong Kong, Muroto and Tianzhu Shan are from Asia Pacific region.

About the author